Local Government Elections

Ordinary Elections

Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes elections are held every two years, on the third Saturday in October. The Councillors are elected for four year terms, with half of the Councillor’s terms concluding at each biennial election.

Local Government Elections play an important role in our democratic system and provide an excellent way to get involved in your community.

An Ordinary Postal Election will be held on Saturday, 21 October 2017 in the Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes to fill the following vacancies:
North - 1 Councillor - 4 year term
South - 4 Councillors - 4 year term

Nominations Open on Thursday, 7 September 2017
Nominations Close at 4:00pm Thursday, 14 September 2017
Nominations must be lodged with the Returning Officer:
• at any time during the above period by arrangement; or
• between 2:00pm and 4:00pm Thursday, 14 September 2017 (close of nominations) at the Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes, 1 Steere Street, BRIDGETOWN.

Nominations Requirements
Candidates are required to lodge with the Returning Officer:
• a completed nomination in the prescribed form, signed and witnessed. (This form is available from the Returning Officer, the Western Australian Electoral Commission or the Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes);
• a single A4 page profile containing not more than 150 words of information about the candidate;
• a nomination deposit of $80 (cash, bank cheque or postal order); and
• a recent passport-sized photograph (optional).

The Commission has developed an online system called Nomination Builder to assist candidates to complete their nomination form which includes the candidate profile. This is the preferred method of completing the nomination form and profile for elections conducted by the Commission. Candidates complete their nomination details and profile, print the completed form which has a reference number allocated and lodge it with the Returning Officer. The nomination builder can be accessed at elections.wa.gov.au.

Where an agent lodges a nomination on a candidate’s behalf, it must be in the prescribed form with a written authorisation signed by the candidate.

The documents may be hand delivered, posted or faxed to the Returning Officer and must be received by the close of nominations.

Full details about eligibility and nomination procedures for prospective candidates can be obtained by contacting the Returning Officer, Elizabeth Doust on 0447 277 043 or the Western Australian Electoral Commission on 13 63 06.

A comprehensive list of Local Government Fact Sheets can be downloaded here.

Further details about the elections can be found on the WAEC website: www.elections.wa.gov.au.

Who is able to vote in a local government election?

All local residents and business owners/occupiers are encouraged to enrol to vote in local government elections.

All residents registered on the State/Federal electoral roll for properties within the Shire of Bridgtwon-Greenbushes will be automatically registered for Local Government Elections.

To check and/or update your enrolment details please visit the Western Australian Electoral Commission's website here or phone the Commission on 13 63 06.

If you own or occupy property in the shire but don’t live here, then you may still be eligible to vote.

How to vote

Election packages will be sent to all electors on the local government electoral roll where there is an election in their electorate. The WAEC will post these out commencing 23 September 2017. Replacement packages can be obtained from the Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes prior to Election Day and from 8.00am to 6.00pm on Election Day if the package is not received or should any papers be missing.

Post your vote early. Completed postal voting packages must reach the returning officer by 6.00pm on Election Day, Saturday 21 October 2017. You may hand deliver your package to an electoral officer at the Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes during business hours before election day or at the polling place between 8.00am and 6.00pm on election day.

Chief polling place: Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes, 1 Steere Street, Bridgetown. The count of votes will commence at 6.00pm.

Frequently Asked Questions

The Election FAQ page on the Department of Local Government and Communities website is available here.