

Special Council Minutes Index - 21 October 2019

		5
	Subject	Page No
Attendance,	Apologies	2
	of Gallery	2
Public Ques	tion Time	2
Business Ite	ems	2
1.	Swearing-in of Newly Elected Councillors	2
2.	Election and Swearing-in of Shire President	2
3.	Election and Swearing-in of Deputy President	3
4.	Allocation of Seating Arrangements for the 2019/2021 Term	n of
	Office	
Appreciatio	n	4
Closure		4

Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council held in the Council Chambers on Monday, 21 October 2019 commencing at 5.30pm, called for the purpose of:

- 1. Swearing-in newly elected Councillors
- 2. Election and Swearing-in of Shire President
- 3. Election and Swearing-in of Deputy President
- 4. Allocation of Seating Arrangements for the 2019/2021 Term of Office

The CEO, Mr T Clynch opened the meeting at 5.30pm

Attendance & Apologies

- Councillors J Bookless
 - J Boyle
 - B Johnson
 - J Moore
 - J Mountford
 - J Nicholas
 - A Pratico
 - P Quinby
 - A Wilson

In Attendance

- T P Clynch, CEO
 M Larkworthy, Executive Manager Corporate Services
- G Arlandoo, Executive Manager Development & Infrastructure
- T Lockley, Executive Assistant
- J Wright, Justice of the Peace

Attendance of Gallery

B Moore, C Bookless, A Sita, A Roebuck, P Thomas, R Thomas, A Pratt, J Barry, D Wilson

Public Question Time - Nil

Business Items

1. Swearing-in of Newly Elected Councillors

Newly elected Councillors; Barbara Johnson, Joann Moore, Jenny Mountford, John Nicholas, Tony Pratico and Peter Quinby made Declarations before Justice of the Peace, Mrs J Wright.

2. Election of Shire President

The CEO read aloud the names of nominations received for the position of Shire President, these being:

- 1. John Bookless
- 2. John Nicholas
- 3. Alan Wilson

The CEO called for further nominations, none were forthcoming.

In accordance with Policy M.30, each candidate was requested to make a presentation to the Council. The Returning Officer (CEO) drew lots to determine the order of presentations with Cr Bookless being called upon to speak first followed by Cr Nicholas and Cr Wilson.

At the conclusion of the presentations a secret ballot took place with the results being:

Councillor	Number of Votes	
Cr Bookless	1	
Cr Nicholas	5	
Cr Wilson	3	

Accordingly, the Returning Officer (CEO) declared Cr Nicholas elected President for the term of office expiring on 16 October 2021.

Cr Nicholas made a Declaration in the presence of Justice of the Peace, Mr A Elder.

Cr Nicholas assumed the Chair

3. Election of Deputy President

The CEO read aloud the names of nominations received for the position of Deputy President, these being:

- 1 Cr Bookless
- 2 Cr Johnson

The CEO called for further nominations, none were forthcoming.

In accordance with Policy M.30, each candidate was requested to make a presentation to the Council. The Returning Officer (CEO) drew lots to determine the order of presentations with Cr Bookless being called upon to speak first followed by Cr Johnson.

At the conclusion of the presentations a secret ballot took place with the results being:

Councillor	Number of Votes	
Cr Bookless	3	
Cr Johnson	6	

Accordingly, the Returning Officer (CEO) declared Cr Johnson elected Deputy President for the term of office expiring on 16 October 2021.

Cr Johnson made a Declaration in the presence of Justice of the Peace, Mrs J Wright.

4. Allocation of Seating Arrangements for the 2019/2021 Term of Office

The CEO, with assistance from Justice of the Peace, Mrs J Wright drew lots for the seating of Councillors for the ensuing two year period excepting seat 1 (President's left hand side) which is reserved for the Deputy President.

Seat No.	Councillor	
2	Bookless	
3	Quinby	
4	Pratico	
5	Wilson	
6	Mountford	
7	Moore	6-
8	Boyle	

Appreciation

The President extended appreciation to Justice of the Peace, Mrs J Wright for officiating at the Special Meeting of Council.

<u>Closure</u>

The President closed the meeting 6.12pm

Minutes checked and authorised by CEO, Mr T P Clynch

22.10.19

CERTIFICATION OF MINUTES

As Presiding Member, I certify that the Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council held 21 October 2019 were confirmed as a true and correct record of the proceedings of that meeting at the Ordinary Meeting of Council held on 31 October 2019